top of page

You can learn on your own pace.


*tradução em português ao final do post.

I'm Diederik. I'm the oldest of a family of seven. I have 3 brothers and one sister.

My parents decided to home-school even before we were supposed to go to school, but I did go a school for a year seeing that is was still quite new in South Africa and there wasn't much info available.

We tried multiple curriculum's but didn't really find one which worked perfectly, so later on we got our books and stuff from multiple suppliers for all the different subjects.

It was fun being home-schooled, because you can learn on your own pace, and focus on your interests.

We also have plenty of time to do your own things and go out with friends, because you don't have to wait school to finish. We basically did all our school work for the day, and then had time to do whatever we are interested in.

It is really nice as well, because if you want to go on a holiday, you complete the work in advance, and the there is no stress of falling behind.

We also went to quite a lot of homeschooling camps, where we got to meet new and different people of different ages and religions.

After I finished most of my studies worked on getting a matric certificate (high school completion certificate), which I did through a distance learning college.

After I finished my matric, I wanted to go to a college to get a certificate.

College was a breeze for me, because with homeschooling you learn how to learn on your own. It also helped a lot because we learned to pay attention in class where most of the other students didn't focus.

It was also quite fun at college, and as a class did some interesting stuff together.

After two years I completed my diploma, and then I started looking for work.

I got my first job at a international VoIP company, where we provided technical support to our clients and also maintained our VoIP switching equipment.

A few years later I started working at a ISP (Internet service provider) where in a few months I was given a new position due to me learning and understanding the equipment at such a fast pace.

I'm still working at the same company and the company has been and is still changing a lot, seeing that we are starting to build massive networks through-out the entire South Africa, and we started selling our services to other large ISPs in South Africa.

 

Meu nome é Diederik.

Eu sou o mais velho de uma família de sete, eu tenho 3 irmãos e uma irmã. (o segundo na fotografia, da esquerda para a direita).

Meus pais decidiram por homeschool mesmo antes de precisarmos ir, mas, eu frequentei uma escola por um ano, apenas para experimentar, já que o ensino em casa ainda era muito novo na África do Sul, e não havia muita informação disponível. Quando começamos, tentamos vários currículos, mas realmente não encontramos nenhum que funcionou perfeitamente, então, mais tarde, usamos nossos livros e material de várias editoras diferentes para estudar os assuntos.

Foi divertido ser educado em casa, porque você pode aprender no seu próprio ritmo, e se concentrar em seus interesses.

Nós também temos muito tempo livre para fazer próprias coisas, e sair com os amigos, porque não precisamos esperar o horário escolar terminar. Basicamente nós fazemos todo o trabalho escolar necessário naquele dia, e depois temos tempo para fazer qualquer coisa que tivermos interesse. É muito bom também, porque se você quiser aproveitar um feriado, você pode concluir o trabalho com antecedência, não há o stress de ficar atrasado. A minha família também foi para vários acampamentos para homeschoolers, onde pudemos ter contatos com novas pessoas de diferentes idades e religiões.

Depois que eu terminei a maioria dos meus estudos eu estudei para tentar o certificado de conclusão do ensino médio, o que fiz através de um colégio de ensino à distância. Quando eu consegui o certificado, eu queria ir para a faculdade para obter uma graduação. A faculdade foi muito fácil para mim, porque com homeschooling você aprende a estudar sozinho. Isso me ajudou muito, porque nós aprendemos a prestar atenção na aula, onde a maioria dos outros alunos não consegue se concentrar. Também foi bastante divertido na faculdade, e como estava numa classe, fizemos algumas coisas interessantes juntos.

Em dois anos eu consegui o meu diploma da faculdade, e então eu comecei à procura de trabalho. Eu consegui meu primeiro emprego em uma empresa de VoIP internacional, onde prestamos apoio aos técnicos e aos nossos clientes, e também damos manutenção e suporte a equipamentos. Alguns anos mais tarde comecei a trabalhar em um ISP (Internet Service Provider, Provedor de Serviços na Internet), onde em poucos meses foi-me dada uma novo cargo, devido a minha facilidade em trabalhar, e compreender o equipamento.

Eu ainda estou trabalhando na mesma empresa, uma empresa que atualmente tem crescido muito, pois, estamos começando a construir networks através de todo o país, e começamos a vender nossos serviços para outras grandes ISP's no Sul África.

Posts Recentes
Arquivo
Procurar por tags
Nenhum tag.
Siga
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page